Some great smoothie recipes

Since I am trying to eat better I have been looking for fun easy recipes, and what is more fun and easy than a smoothie. So here are three smoothies I found on the site Veggie Meal Maker, which is a great site if you are looking for vegetarian and vegan recipes I think they make even have a few gluten free recipes. Just click the titles for the links to the recipes.

1. Mango Spinach Green Smoothie

mango-spinach-smoothie_large

I’m going to try this tomorrow for lunch or an afternoon snack since I have all of the ingredients. The only thing I’m changing is using raw unfiltered honey since agave nectar is just as bad for you as refined sugar. I’ll let you know how it tastes, I’m hoping to try all three smoothies. When I do I will let you guys know how it tastes and if it worked well as a meal replacement or is better as an in between meals snack.

2. Vanilla Peach Smoothie

~1vanilla_peach_smoothie_large

This is the smoothie that I am looking forward to making the most. I am going to try this next month when I have money to go grocery shopping. Instead of soy milk and vanilla I am going to use coconut milk because I accidentally bought vanilla flavored coconut milk ( which is delicious and unlike soy milk and almond milk it did not bother my lactose intolerance.) Also I’m going to just use frozen peaches instead of the ice cubes so it will be a little thicker. I am a huge fan of peaches so I’m really excited about this one. I plan on using this as a snack between breakfast and lunch or along with my breakfast which is usually just oatmeal or eggs with a piece of fruit. Again I’ll let you know how it tastes and how filling it is.

3. Triple Berry Smoothie

~1atripple_berry_smoothie_large

Want longer hair? Then this is the smoothies for you berries are rich in vitamins and nutrients, including iron which helps blood carry more oxygen to your scalp which will allow your hair to be healthy and grow longer and stronger. Berries are also rich in anti-oxidants and fight against free-radicals which are believed to be a cause of cancer. Again I am substituting coconut milk for the soy milk, it also says you can use rice milk or nut milk (which I’m assuming includes almond milk,) so if that’s what you prefer you can use that. I haven’t really seen rice milk at the grocery stores or Walmarts around here  so I may just buy unflavored coconut for this one, although I’m sure the vanilla taste would go well with the berries. This recipe doesn’t call for any sweeteners, but if you don’t like the tartness of berries be sure not to add refined sugar or agave nectar, go for either real local honey(or the raw unfiltered stuff from Colorado they sell at a lot of grocery stores) or some Stevia.

Like I said I plan on trying all of these and doing a follow up as to how they tasted and whether or not they work better as a snack or as a meal replacement when you are in a hurry.

Leave a comment